markshaw
Academy Player
Champs baby, still partying
Look it's the laws that are at fault here. Now you could say Rougerie stepped through the ruck as he goes over the feet of a player. That is the gate isn't it? and if it's not, then why is the ball in a direct line with Rougeries path?..
It's the laws, they just don't make sense.
Wow, ok. Thought you may have mistyped.Well, I think that this backline has everything. It's a backline that consists of running, crashing the defensive line, breaking through, kicking. It is what you guys missed over the years. Not that you were bad, but now it all falls into place.
How is that ball in the ruck?
There's no legs or feet over it, it's just lying on the floor next to a prone player?
lol, go ahead. Honestly I think some people here need to man up and come clean about comments towards beaver and my assessment of his abilities and potential at test level over the last few years.
I hope the NZ public learns from this, apart from the fact people should just acknowledge my assessment of players as fact... People need to encourage and get behind the all blacks no matter what because like it or not the guys selected are the best we have and they will perform closer to their potential with the public opinion behind them and not on top of them.
Wow, ok. Thought you may have mistyped.
You do realise that your 15 year timeframe covers most of the international careers of the likes of Christian Cullen, Jonah Lomu, Tana Umaga, Jeff Wilson, Joe Rokocoko, Sitiveni Sivivatu, and others? I am curious, which teams did have edge by your criteria in the last 15 years?
No one seems to have said anything in defence of McCaw's hit on Parra.
Nonu was in possession of the ball and was tackled by Parra. First man on the scene was Desautoir who attempted to turn the ball over. McCaw arrived before Parra had rolled away and attempted to clear Dusautoir out and retain All Black possession. In the process McCaw's left hand strikes/hits/brushes Parra's right cheek and then McCaw's left knee hits Parra in the right temple.
The slow motion replay from the New Zealand end makes this look horrible. Parra was certainly struck and hurt during this clearout.
Here's a video which shows this in the worst possible light:
Some points:
1. In my opinion McCaw seems to have no motivation other than to clearout Dusautoir.
2. He leads into Dusautoir with his left hand, aiming to get under Dusautoir's left arm to remove it from the area where the ball is located. Technically sound, but his left hand strikes Parra on the way through.
3. This all happened very quickly but Parra certainly made no motion to roll away. In fact, at the moment that McCaw arrives Parra raises his head and that is when the initial contact between hand and face occurs.
4. All of McCaw's energy continues to be aimed at removing Dusautoir which he succeeds in doing.
Is anyone going to make a case that McCaw's actions here were actually malicious or underhanded? At the very worst he was careless. Barely that. Parra was just a little unlucky I think.
All respect, but NO. Kaino is simply not on his feet.The "moment of madness" happens AFTER Rougerie illegally kicks the ball out of the NZ side of the ruck. Do you seriously beleive that the French would still have scored that try anyway? YOU must be joking.
OK
![]()
Here is Kaino, the player in front of McCaw (our view is obstructed by France 17 and the French player beyond). He appears to be on his feet competing for the ball. He's the first man to the breakdown and no ruck has yet been formed.
![]()
Kaino is still on his feet, and has moved slightly forward. A ruck has been formed by the arrival of France player whos number we cannot see. However, since Kaino has his hands on the ball already, he is entitled to KEEP his hands on the ball.
[TEXTAREA]16.4 OTHER RUCK OFFENCES
(b) Players must not handle the ball in a ruck except after a tackle if they are on their feet and have their hands on the ball before the ruck is formed.
Sanction: Penalty kick[/TEXTAREA]
![]()
However, in the act of picking the ball up, he knocks it on, and, after waving play-on and playing advantage to give France a chance the continue with play, the ball does not come out, and so Joubert correctly awards the scrum to France.
If you watch the sequence from 1:07 to 1:24, after you have read and understood what I have written here, you will see that Joubert was right, and Mr Pink Shirt is wrong.
What is shown here is not, by definition, a ruck.![]()
In this photo (ignore the offside line because it would not apply
if this was a tackle) you can see that he is clearly well to our side of
where the ball is. If you want to say this is a tackle, then right
there, he has entered the tackle zone from the side; and this
would be a material offence because he takes part in play...PING!!
McCaw does release Dusautoir and he does roll away. It's a timing thing for sure but I think he timed it just about perfectly. The problem was that Dusautoir had no support and he did hold on. Trinh-Duc eventually arrives and clears out Weepu but it was too late to stop the penalty being awarded.Another thing after watching the 3rd replay of the final. In the lead up to the Woodcock try... It was a PK to touch by weepu that got them into the French 22. But the penalty that gave them the ball is really off.
Mccaw tackles Dusatoir and turns him.. But Mccaw does not release Dusatoir nor does he roll away , thereby preventing Dusatoir from presenting the ball back to his own players.. Weepu comes in and rightly tries to steal the ball.. Nothing wrong with Weepu, but Mccaw is the one who should be penalized.
Agree 100%. McCaw has a long career behind him at various levels and i don't recall ever seeing him do anything malicious. As for playing close to or over the limits of the laws - that is his job and he does it better than anyone.Accidental collision, nothing more.
For all the criticism McCaw cops for his close to the limit of the Laws play, from supporters of the teams he plays against, he is not, never has been, and never will be a cheap shot artist, unlike some others we won't mention.
I agree mostly with what you have said here but there are a number of seconds that go by and the coverage certainly does not give us much of a view of what occurred in those seconds. A number of French players that could see what was going on protested to the referee. I suspect what happened is that Kaino went down onto his knees and then got back up again, or he took his hands off the ball and then subsequently played the ball on the ground. But we don't have the evidence in the coverage to say definitively what happened.![]()
Here is Kaino, the player in front of McCaw (our view is obstructed by France 17 and the French player beyond). He appears to be on his feet competing for the ball. He's the first man to the breakdown and no ruck has yet been formed.
![]()
Kaino is still on his feet, and has moved slightly forward. A ruck has been formed by the arrival of France player whos number we cannot see. However, since Kaino has his hands on the ball already, he is entitled to KEEP his hands on the ball.
[TEXTAREA]16.4 OTHER RUCK OFFENCES
(b) Players must not handle the ball in a ruck except after a tackle if they are on their feet and have their hands on the ball before the ruck is formed.
Sanction: Penalty kick[/TEXTAREA]
Joubert does not see the knock on, he does not play advantage, and he does not blow for the knock-on. He must have seen the ball come out the back of the ruck without seeing the knock-on, followed by various players competing for possession. Joubert blows up when it is clear the ball is not coming out and awards the scrum to France because they are moving forward.![]()
However, in the act of picking the ball up, he knocks it on, and, after waving play-on and playing advantage to give France a chance the continue with play, the ball does not come out, and so Joubert correctly awards the scrum to France.
McCaw does release Dusautoir and he does roll away. It's a timing thing for sure but I think he timed it just about perfectly. The problem was that Dusautoir had no support and he did hold on. Trinh-Duc eventually arrives and clears out Weepu but it was too late to stop the penalty being awarded.
From the time they hit the ground to the time McCaw released was about 1.5 seconds and most of that they were still in motion from the momentum of the tackle. I think you are wrong on this - I don't know what more I can say.He did not release Dusatoir and he was laying right there and therefore preventing Dusatoir from putting the ball back.. Look at how weepu got hold of the ball. Dusatoir couldnt put the ball back on his side.
And you don't recognise the guy in the pink shirt, Matt Williams?
Sheeeeeez ! After reading all these comments and arguments about the ruck, who's offside, who's illegally joined, who's on their feet, etc. Itbmakes me realize how hard it is to Ref this game effectively, you'll always get wrong interpretations. All the more reason to support making the World Cup final a 3 game affair!.................maybe I'll start supporting netball....
Please re-read post #861. If this is not a ruck - which is seemingly the referee's interpretation, then Rougerie's kick is valid as we are either in open play or still in a tackle and therefore your whole claim falls apart.The "moment of madness" happens AFTER Rougerie illegally kicks the ball out of the NZ side of the ruck. Do you seriously beleive that the French would still have scored that try anyway? YOU must be joking.