• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

Millenium Magic Weekend.

R

Rugby_Cymru

Ok, so I'm a total rookie to the old game of league, so I'm looking for help.

On the first weekend of May a whole bunch of the Super League sides are going to be playing each other in a mass brawl (why not) with 6 games spanning over 2 days...which will no doubt ruin the pitch in the stadium coz it's shite and can barely cope with just 2 games as it is! Let alone 6.

Anyway, I don't want to be going into those games in a fortnight's time knowing NOTHING about the clubs, so i was wondering if you folks could help me out (I'm sure GETOFMELAND and SAINTSFANWEBBY would appreciate such an introduction, also).
All i'm looking at is the basics that will help.
Who are the good teams; what have they achieved; where do they lie in the league right now; which teams have certain players i should look out for; who are the favourites for the matches, etc.

So the teams are:

St. Helens
Wigan Warriors

Bradford Bulls
Leeds Rhinos

Hull FC
Hull KR

Warrington Wolves
Salford City Reds

Huddersfield Giants
Wakefield Cats

Catalan Dragons
Harlequins CL

You don't have to write about them all, just something about one team, so i can do a little bit of reading and know what, or whom, to expect.

Cheers!

I am going to write a Millennium Magic preview and I can cover basics for you as well.

They have tried to make the main deby teams play each other, but because of multiple division that can't happen. Thats why Warrington are playing Salford, not Widnes and Swinton respectivley, plus, I know its hard to believe, but Quins and Catalans aren't an historic derby. Leeds have recently been pitted against Bradford in the derbs but originally Leeds' main local rivalry was Castleford, and Bradford, well I suppose Keighley. Plus, Wakey's main traditional rival was probably either Castleford or Featherstone, and Hudds, most likely Halifax. However many of these teams aren't in the Superleague.