Dai Perk

Bench Player
Country Flag
United States
Club or Nation
Scotland
Hey, my friends,

Another quick question from a ruggers newcomer:

Watching Edinburgh v Montpelier right now. I notice my beloved Edinburgh side is taking penalty kicks rather than going for the corner every single time. I don't mind, as we're up 9-0 at 35 minutes...

But does that strategy "mean something"? i.e. if you always want to "take the points when they're on offer," does that indicate you think your team need all the help they can get? Are they (gulp) scared?

Thanks as always,

Dave

For me, not necessarily. It means you trust your goal kicker (questionable with Edinburgh with VDW) and you trust your defence enough for you to be able to win while scoring less than say 25 points.

If I'm a coach and I have a kickable penalty I'd only kick to the corner in an even scored game if a few of the following apply:

i) the opponents have been penalised a lot and I want to try and force a yellow card
ii) my kicker isn't great
iii) my maul is my strength and the opponents maul defence isn't a strength
iv) I need a BP
v) my hooker isn't Malcolm Marx (McInally's lineout isn't rock solid in my opinion)

Otherwise it is a kick at goal for me. I haven't seen the Edinburgh game, but I imagine Cockerill is thinking that the French will have a big beefy pack that they can't bully at lineout and maul. In sport it is better to win and be considered scared. The world is littered with brave losers.

Different teams have different strategies. Taking 3 when they're on offer is the pragmatic approach. Build a lead and make the opposition chase the game. If you've a simple shot at goal early in the game, it's hard to turn down.