• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

Position Specific: Back Row Training

MattFloyd

Academy Player
Country Flag
England
Club or Nation
Harlequins
I am trying to find a position specific training plan for Back Row. I currently play in a social league but would like to get back to playing at a more competitive level. I am struggling to find the right combination of individual training to accompany club sessions on a weekly basis.

I have seen rugby dump pushing the Kevin Shattock HIRT books but am sceptical over how good a resource it would be. Any useful feedback or alternatives would be appreciated.

From my experience flankers at lower levels are always better to just work on fitness rather than loads of weights really.

I'd do HIT interval training and some body weight circuit training.

I'm no expert (as I have nearly always played lock) but fitness is key, bigger guys at lower levels just don't get picked as much as the fitter ones

What style of play You want to play.

I'm 5'9 and about 90kg I'm the kind of player that needs to hit the ruck first and get the turnover before getting cleared out.

I'm trying to injury proof and strengthen while improving fitness. But I just don't have the technical knowledge to do it.

- - - Updated - - -

Get on the mats and take up Judo or Brazilian Jiu Jitsu on the side mate

I'd love to but I'm just about making time for rugby around work as it is hence my trouble finding a flexible training plan that gets the right results. I've contacted some PT s but very few have good sports specific knowledge

- - - Updated - - -

From my experience flankers at lower levels are always better to just work on fitness rather than loads of weights really.

I'd do HIT interval training and some body weight circuit training.

I'm no expert (as I have nearly always played lock) but fitness is key, bigger guys at lower levels just don't get picked as much as the fitter ones