• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

[MegaThread] RFU Top Flight Future

pagliaccio_euforico

International
TRF Legend
* Reggae Horn * Reggae Horn * Reggae Horn *

Now that Wasps and Worcester have completed stage 1 of phoenixing it appears the RFU and PRL are going to be reevaluating things. Let's do that here. I'm sure there will be lots of reckless speculation so let's have fun.

One option to be explored is 10 team premiership with an 8 team Premiership D2. No mention of the welsh yet.

This is an idea I've been evolving for 15+ years now, and occasionally posting:

IMO what we need is better player welfare (fewer matches/minutes per player) alongside increased interest levels (higher quality/intensity matches, larger geographic spread, greater diversity of opponents…), and re-arranging the season without shrinking it too much… Which is a bit like trying to square a circle.

IMO, decrease the Prem to 10 teams, 5 in each level of European rugby.
Shrink the champ to 10 (IMO: we can sustain about 20 fully pro clubs, even if they need some charity initially).
Increase promo/relegation with the Championship to 1 automatic and another play off.
Ring-fence the top two leagues (with specific criteria to eject under-performers or include ambitious semi-pro.s).

MSCs for both leagues, but looser than currently, predominantly administrative, and basic stadium features (any mention of capacity should be set very low; circa 2-3K; maybe include plans for increases to 10K over a sensible time period).
Same salary cap for both leagues (but without the expectation of paying up to it for the lower level Championship teams). Salary cap should be based on financial viability, not owner's ego.
TV deal is for both leagues as one deal (ideally 2 Prem and 1 Champ match per weekend, but I'm not averse to more).
RFU academies for all.