• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

Ireland Six Nations Squad 2025

Is the presence/absence of Ringrose really going to determine the outcome of Ita v Ire? I think the Italian team have more pressing problems to worry about!
No, but it's about consistency. We want it during matches and also for bans. If Ireland are allowed to do it, then Ntamack has every right to be ****** off that he wasn't.
 
If I remember correctly Mako Vunipola got a red card a few years ago that should've ruled him out of the last prem game before the 6n and then rounds 1 and 2. The panel declared that a prem rugby cup fixture two days after the prem game could count for the ban and thus he only missed one 6n fixture
 
If I was Italy I'd definitely query it. I'm sure I've seen it before where if the player wouldn't have played if he hadn't been banned, then the game shouldn't count regardless of rules. It's definitely Ireland trying to pull a fast one because as I said, there is no way he would have played this weekend if he wasn't banned.
I doubt they'd get anywhere. These things are based on pre-set rules and argued and mediated on by lawyers. The colour of the jersey isn't a factor.

On the other side of the coin, how is N'tamack's hit the same punishment as Ringrose's? Ringrose mistimed a rush and made head to head contact that he was trying to avoid (wrapped and had a knee on the ground at impact). N'tamack shoulder charged a prone player to the head with no wrap.

Rules are rules and France's set up worked against them here, an Italian Benneton player probably gets Ringrose's treatment and an English player N'tamack's.
 
I doubt they'd get anywhere. These things are based on pre-set rules and argued and mediated on by lawyers. The colour of the jersey isn't a factor.

On the other side of the coin, how is N'tamack's hit the same punishment as Ringrose's? Ringrose mistimed a rush and made head to head contact that he was trying to avoid (wrapped and had a knee on the ground at impact). N'tamack shoulder charged a prone player to the head with no wrap.

Rules are rules and France's set up worked against them here, an Italian Benneton player probably gets Ringrose's treatment and an English player N'tamack's.
Yeah, that's called a technicality and you know it. Also Ringrose didn't try and avoid, he hit him with force. I'm not saying they are the same but the punishment is there for a reason and the rules around player ineligibility should be the same for all. Just because something follows the rules doesn't make it right.
 
Yeah, that's called a technicality and you know it. Also Ringrose didn't try and avoid, he hit him with force. I'm not saying they are the same but the punishment is there for a reason and the rules around player ineligibility should be the same for all. Just because something follows the rules doesn't make it right.
Ringrose was definitely trying to avoid head contact, he was bent at the hip and on his knee at impact, he went in too fast and got his head position wrong. Red card for sure but the same entry level as N'tamack's is as dubious as the difference in treatment.

As for the second part, you're probably right but blame the union not finding the loophole rather than the one that does.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Latest posts

Top