• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

Marnitz Boshoff, a couple questions

OedipussyRex

Academy Player
Country Flag
United States
Club or Nation
New Zealand
As my post count shows, I'm new to the forum, but I'm also new to Rugby so any insight would be helpful.

1) At the start of the 2014 Super Rugby season Marnitz Boshoff was the lead scorer. Why was he essentially benched in the second half? Even when he was on the pitch they had someone else kicking goals.

2) Why is Boshoff not a Springbok? The man has a ~90% kicking accuracy. Even being benched for half the season he was still the 4th highest scorer in Super Rugby and the top scorer in South Africa. Was he caught sleeping with the coach's daughter?

As my post count shows, I'm new to the forum, but I'm also new to Rugby so any insight would be helpful.

1) At the start of the 2014 Super Rugby season Marnitz Boshoff was the lead scorer. Why was he essentially benched in the second half? Even when he was on the pitch they had someone else kicking goals.

2) Why is Boshoff not a Springbok? The man has a ~90% kicking accuracy. Even being benched for half the season he was still the 4th highest scorer in Super Rugby and the top scorer in South Africa. Was he caught sleeping with the coach's daughter?

Answers:

1) He was swapped with Elton Jantjies, who is a springbok, but more of a running fly half than a kicking fly half. They usually would move Elton into fly half and Boshoff to fullback or to the bench when they wanted to change the style of play. Also Boshoff was at times benched to prevent his hamstring from pulling up as he has had a history of hamstring injuries.

2) He is a Springbok! He made his Debut against Scotland earlier this year. But then got injured with the resumption of the Super Rugby tournament, he will most likely be fit for the EOYT.

Boshoff is a Springbok even though he only had a few minutes off the bench helping in demolshing an admittedly B-team Scotland at home.