• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

Drew Mitchell confirms two-year Waratahs deal

M

munross

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE </div>
Drew Mitchell has signed with the HSBC Waratahs and Australian Rugby Union for a two-year deal which takes the Wallaby back through to Rugby World Cup 2011.
After signalling his intentions to move to Sydney in April, Mitchell has finalised negotiations with NSW Rugby and the ARU, confirming his move east today.

The deal ensures that Mitchell will start the to be formed Super 15 with the Waratahs.

"I've known what I've been doing for a few months – it's just been a matter of getting all the paperwork in place which I've done now," said Mitchell.

"It's been quite fun coming in and doing a lot of the weights sessions in the Waratahs gym when we're in Wallabies camp knowing I'll be back here a lot more regularly for the next couple of years.

"It's an exciting move for me. The Waratahs obviously have an amazing history but are still chasing that first Super Rugby ***le, and hopefully I can be a part of that happening."

HSBC Waratahs Head Coach Chris Hickey said the acquisition of Mitchell would be one of the most significant off-season transfers in the Super 14.

"Drew is a fantastic footballer who has done the job for the Reds, the Force and the Wallabies whenever he's been asked," said Hickey.

"His versatility between fullback and wing works in well with our style of play and it is clearly a role he revels in for the Wallabies as well.

"We had an eye on Drew as soon as we knew he was off contract and right from the start he indicated he would really enjoy a move to Sydney to be part of the Waratahs set-up. He's spent a lot of time using our facilities with the Wallabies and he's obviously spoken with a lot of our players within the Wallabies program.

"Over the past few months it's just been a matter of dotting the I's and crossing the T's, but it's nice to now officially be able to call Drew a 'Waratah'."