• Help Support The Rugby Forum :

Warm Up Match 4: Highlanders v British & Irish Lions (Dunedin)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Courageous rugby from the Highlanders, the Lions too weren't bad and they were going for the win. Just got unlucky at the end. Superb match, most intense one. This tour is definitely going crescendo now
 
Despite the best efforts of Fekitoa and Lee to loose the game the HL pulled it out.
 
Lions 3 Tries vs 2 Highlanders. Moral victory. Basically all that matters. Boring going for the sticks...
 
I'd be really worried if I was Gatland; the number of players who are showing they just can't be counted on in pressure situations or players who just haven't turned up to this tour is really disappointing.

I think right now picking a test 15 is easier than it's ever been for any lions coach ever.

Overall, fair play to the highlanders for hanging in there and you certainly can't begrudge them that win which will be such a highlight for so many of them.

In terms of the lions I genuinely have no idea how they didn't win the game; they looked so comfortable after the warburton try and really thought they could pull away. The 30 minutes after that was just a blur of errors, I'm not really sure what happened!
 
Naholo and Banks best men for the Highlanders. Stander impressed me most for the Lions, Warburton with some nice carries. Unfortunately Lions backs didn't leave the same imprint they used to and this showed on the result
 
Surely that's our ball? Nowell caught it and was in control

When both players catch the ball simultaneously (which is what actually happened) and then go to ground, its not a tackle, it come under Law 14... Ball on the Ground - No tackle. Both players are supposed to release the ball, but if neither of them do, you cannot fairly penalise either. The ball is then unplayable, and the scrum is awarded to the team going forward. It was an unusual situation, but the referee got it exactly right.

20.4 THE TEAM THROWING THE BALL INTO THE SCRUM
(d) Scrum after any other stoppage. After any other stoppage or irregularity not covered by
Law, the team that was moving forward before the stoppage throws in the ball. If neither
team was moving forward, the attacking team throws in the ball.
 
mocking-spongebob.jpg

hL sHoUlD hAvE wOn ThIs eAsIlY
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Latest posts

Sponsored
UnlistMe
Back
Top